photo-22_organisation_gouvernance-bdThere as two levels of governance:

  • The Joint Service Unit (UMS) TWB, under the triple administrative stewardship of INRA/INSA/CNRS, is managed by its director of UMS and its founding director and organised into business and support services.
  • TWB is based on a private/public partners consortium that sets the guidelines of the demonstrator through its Strategic Steering Committee.

At the consortium level

The strategic steering committee

TWB consortium is supervised by a Strategic Steering Committee (SSC). This committee is in charge, with a public and private parity, of defining the roadmap of TWB and selecting pre-competitive research projects. It is a source of proposals and reflection.

It is chaired by Jean-Claude Lumaret (Carbios) and co-chaired by Monique Axelos (INRA) and Nicolas Seeboth (Michelin).

Two advisory committees support the SSC on the monitoring of research projects: the scientific advisory board and the ethics & sustainable development committee.

The scientific advisory board 

It consists of 9 members who annually examine the different research projects (non industrial) led by TWB and advise on quality and scientific relevance:

  • Uwe T. BORNSCHEUERProfessor University of Greifswald – Germany
  • Rajni HATTI-KAUL – Professor University of Lund, Sweden
  • Bruno JARRY – President of the French Academy of Technology, France
  • Jay KEASLING – Professor University of Berkeley, USA – Director of the Joint BioEnergy Institute, Emeryville
  • Akihiko KONDO – Professor University of Kobe, Japan – Head « Innovative Biotechnology Kobe (iBioK) »
  • Merja PENTTILÄProfessor Biotechnology Bioproducts, FinlandVTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
  • Carles SOLA Professor University Autonomous of Barcelona, Spain – Former Minister of Universities and Research, Catalan Government
  • John WOODLEYProfessor DTU Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Huimin ZHAO – Centennial Chair Professor University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

The ethics & sustainable development committee

It consists of 8 members who are solicited on any matter concerning the ethical, social and environmental pre-competitive research projects (non-industrial):

  • Bernard BAERSCHI Professor, Geneva University, Switzerland
  • Bernadette BENSAUDE-VINCENTProfessor, Paris Ouest University, France
  • Alain BOUDET – Emeritus Professor, Toulouse University, France
  • Anne CAMBON-THOMSENResearch Director CNRS, Génopole, Toulouse, France
  • Alain KAUFMAN Director « Interface Sciences-Society », Lausanne University, Switzerland
  • Thierry MAGNIN – Rector, Université Catholique de Lyon, France
  • François MONNET Advanced Technologies Director, Solvay, France
  • Nathalie NASR Lecturer & Hospital practitioner, Toulouse Hospital, France

At the TWB level

The TWB team consists of:

  • a core team ensuring direction, administration and management of the technical facilities of the demonstrator
  • and a group of researchers (mostly post-doctoral) and technical staff who are recruited on TWB R&D projects.

The executive committee

The executive committee is the strategic and managerial instance of TWB. It is directly linked to the strategic steering committee of the consortium. It is composed of:

Olivier ROLLAND – Managing director
Pierre MONSAN – Advisor to the Managing director
Jean-Luc BLANC – Joint service unit director & administrative and financial director
Olivier GALY – Technical operations director
Laurie REY – Business management director
Michel MANACH – Business developer
Fayza DABOUSSI – Scientific advisor
Véronique PAQUET – External relations director

The executive committee takes advice from the extended executive committee where managers from TWB technical platforms, business development, purchase and quality are represented.